Day 25 (9 Jan 2010): I <3 Trains [Bangkok – Butterworth]

For your convenience, please refer to The Journey for the itinerary and the latest updates.

Weather: Fine

Distance covered today: 0km
Distance traveled from Guangzhou: 3,256km
Distance remaining to Singapore: 1,848km

Fact of the day: State Railways of Thailand (SRT) operates trains on 4,070 km of railway tracks.

The lads were up and going early due to their noon flight to Singapore. Despite being drunk from the previous night’s party, Qinyao managed to pull himself up in time for buffet breakfast with us.

I went off to the nearby Carrefour to grab enough food for the loooooooooooong train ride to Butterworth. After showering, I retraced my way back to Hua Lamphong Train Station on metro.

Established 1910

Waiting area

Departing BKK

My Train

Special Express 35 to Butterworth

Train name/number: International Express Train 35
Dep: Bangkok 14:45 (GMT +7)
Arr: Butterworth 12:55 (GMT +8)
Distance covered: 1,161 km
Time taken: 22h10m
Cost: 1,120 THB (2nd Class Air con sleeper upper berth)

An approximate map

The train carriage was newer and nicer than the non-aircon carriage which I took from Nong Khai. I would spend most of the time reading Malcolm Gladwell‘s Outliers. The train caterer went around to take orders for the meal service but I decided to give it a miss because I didn’t have enough Baht (150 THB for dinner) and I had enough food to last me the journey.

After dinner, the attendant came and made the beds. I was lulled to sleep by the rickety sounds made by the rails and tracks.

Leave a Reply

