Long Weekend in Kiwiland Pt I: Prologue

Pt I: Prologue
Pt II: Long Haul LCC
Pt III: Rotten Eggs
Pt IV: Volcanos
Pt V: Animals & Auckland
Pt VI: 3K 402
Pt VII: Epilogue

Truth to be told, New Zealand is never high on the my list of places-to-visit.

Somehow western countries possess neither the raw energy nor the romanticism which the edgy ones have. (Read India, Sri Lanka, Myanmar, Laos etc)

Its location at the far-flung corner of the world means that getting there is never going to be cheap.

And since I’m no adrenaline junkie, extreme activities such as skydiving or bungy (which NZ is famous for) hold little attraction for me.

Hence when Jetstar announced last June that it would fly to Auckland from Singapore from 17 March 2011 onwards, it barely registered a blip on my deal-seeking radar.

Several weeks before the inaugural flight Jetstar launched another promotion.

This time it had my attention.

The dummy booking revealed the price which was too sweet to resist.

Immediately I sat down and looked at the calender.

This year’s Vesak Day falls on Tuesday so I could squeeze in a long weekend trip if I took the Monday off.

Before any rational thoughts took over, I booked my ticket.

And both my mom and sis succumbed to my persuasion and joined me on the flights as well.

The damage to my credit card?

All of 492.78 SGD. 🙂

Leave a Reply

