Seoul Delightful Pt I: Prologue

Pt I: Prologue
Pt II: SIN – KUL – ICN
Pt III: Day 1 – Itaewon, Namdaemun, Myeongdong & Namsan Park
Pt IV: Day 2 – DMZ Tour
Pt V: Day 3 – Seoul Museum of History & Lotte World
Pt VI: Day 4 – Gwanghwamun, Cheonggyecheon & Bukchon
Pt VII: Day 5 – Insadong & Dongdaemun
Pt VIII: ICN – KUL – SIN
Pt IX: Epilogue

Earlier this year in January, AirAsia X ran a promotion and offered enticing fares for travel in October. It wasn’t too difficult to convince my parents and sister to join me in Seoul with the KUL-ICN fare at 124 SGD each. We would depart at 1am on 25 October, taking advantage of the Hari Raya Haji long weekend.

The next step was to buy the tickets which get us to KUL from SIN and AirAsia once again had the best price at 33 SGD per person. Over the next few months, I kept a lookout for the price of the return ticket. In the end, the return was on AirAsia X yet again; ICN-KUL-SIN on 30 October was 208 SGD each. Instead choosing the next flight out of KUL, I made a mistake by choosing a flight which departed four hours after the flight from Incheon has landed. C’est la vie.

SIN-KUL-ICN-KUL-SIN

Fancy hotels in Seoul were mostly out of my price range and the choices of guesthouses were rather uninspiring. Did a search on Airbnb and found a nice hanok but my procrastination caused me to miss it out. My next choice was a three bedroom house at Itaewon, costing a reasonable 495 euros for five nights.

A couple of weeks before the trip, my cousins decided to join us. Since they are living in Malaysia, they will depart directly from KUL. The air tickets were no longer cheap by then and their return flights were close to 1500 MYR each (~600 SGD). I informed that property owner about the increase in the number of travelers and an additional 50 USD would be paid on arrival.

The weekend before the trip, I finally purchased the meals and check-in luggage. The add-ons (15 kg check-in luggage for SIN-KUL-ICN and 35 kg check-in luggage and four meals for ICN-KUL-SIN) cost close to 180 SGD. The total cost of the return air ticket for each person came to be 410 SGD, a pretty decent price in my opinion.

I didn’t have a fixed itinerary in Korea except for the tour to the Joint Security Area (JSA) on 26 October. I had placed a reservation with TourDMZ and the half-day tour cost 77,000 KRW. Planning the rest of the trip wasn’t too difficult as there were plenty of itineraries available online and some of my friends provided great tips for exploring Seoul. Really appreciate them!

Leave a Reply

