Seoul Delightful Pt II: SIN – KUL – ICN

Pt I: Prologue
Pt II: SIN – KUL – ICN
Pt III: Day 1 – Itaewon, Namdaemun, Myeongdong & Namsan Park
Pt IV: Day 2 – DMZ Tour
Pt V: Day 3 – Seoul Museum of History & Lotte World
Pt VI: Day 4 – Gwanghwamun, Cheonggyecheon & Bukchon
Pt VII: Day 5 – Insadong & Dongdaemun
Pt VIII: ICN – KUL – SIN
Pt IX: Epilogue

I somehow managed to qualify for a free airport transfer with my credit card spend the previous month. The service provided by the ComfortDelGro Group was pretty good; shortly after e-mailing in the reservation form, I received an e-mail and a SMS confirming the pick-up time and the vehicle and driver’s details. The taxi arrived 15 minutes before the scheduled pick-up time of 6.45pm and we were at the airport in no time.

Free airport transfer

On the way

Picked the shortest queue to drop our bags but were still held up by an Indonesian Chinese family in front.

Baggage Drop

Not sure if the agent was happy to serve me

We only bought 15kg of check-in baggage for the outbound and we did our best to utilize it.

13.4kg

By the time we were done the lines were pretty long. I was quite happy that we had arrived at the airport early, leaving ourselves plenty of time for dinner.

Long lines at check-in

After dinner at T1’s staff cafeteria, we cleared immigration and headed for our gate.

Gate C11

Our plane had already arrived at the gate and boarding was fairly quick for the almost full flight.

9M-AHD

Flight: AirAsia AK 718
Depart: Singapore (SIN) – 20:45
Arrive: Kuala Lumpur (KUL) – 21:50
Duration: 1h5m
Distance: 185 miles (298 km)
Aircraft: Airbus A320-200
Registration: 9M-AHD
Seat: 21 A

Cabin shot

Seat pitch

Seat pocket content

3Sixty

QPR merchandise for sale

Model planes

Huge QF bird

Take-off:-

It was a buck standard AirAsia flight and before we knew it we arrived at KUL.

Thanks for the ride

While I had lost count of the number of times that I was at KUL low cost carrier terminal, it was the first time that the rest of my family had been there. They were surprised how basic it was and were not too impressed with the long walk from the plane to the immigration counters. To be honest we all have been spoiled by our uber-efficient SIN.

The immigration official asked how long I would be in Malaysia and he didn’t mind my answer of “three hours”. We waited for around 10 minutes in the Arrivals area before my aunt spotted us and deposited with us her girls.

By then check-in for our flight was open and we could drop our luggage there.

Towards our check-in row

As we were all on separate bookings, I needed to explain to the check-in agent which took some time.

Now I know why Tony Fernandes bought Park

Despite having print-outs of our boarding passes, we were re-issued them in receipt papers.

Boarding Pass

Thanks to the terminal’s free Wifi, it wasn’t too hard to kill time at KUL LCCT. By boarding time, the crowd at LCCT had thinned since our flight was the last one out of it that day.

Queuing to board

There was one last security check where the security personnel asked us some questions (who are you traveling with, why are you traveling, how many days away, etc). One of my cousins was asked “Tak ada sekolah? (no school?)”, to which she sheepishly replied “Pontang (cut classes)”.

LCCT has no aerobridges, which meant that we got up close and personal with our ride.

Boarding a widebody

9M-XXC

Flight: AirAsia X D7 506
Depart: Kuala Lumpur (KUL) – 01:00
Arrive: Seoul Incheon (ICN) – 08:20
Duration: 6h20m
Distance: 2869 miles (4617 km)
Aircraft: Airbus A330-300
Registration: 9M-XXC
Seat: 41 K

My seat was 41K and I didn’t leave it for the entire duration of the flight.

View from 41 K

Before I was knocked out by fatigue, I took a picture of the safety information card.

We’re on A330-300

I managed to sleep through most of the flight and the sun was already rising the next time I woke up.

Taken when I was half-awake

The seat was no SQ’s long haul J but it felt wider than Scoot’s. We hit some turbulence when we got close to Seoul.

Hitting the clouds

Landing:-

Landed

Rare: VistaJet’s Bombardier Global Express

All the pretty liveries

Jeju Air reminds me of Easyjet

Welcome to Korea!

One thought on “Seoul Delightful Pt II: SIN – KUL – ICN

  1. Howdy! I basically would like to give a huge thumbs up for the good data you’ve got here on this post. I will probably be coming once again to your weblog for far more soon. kfcedbaddfdb

Leave a Reply

