Taiwan with Bosses Pt I: Prologue

Pt I: Prologue
Pt II: SIN-TPE

The third (and final) trip from the one-for-one Jetstar offer last October brought me to Taipei (S$198 a/i) from 9 to 13 May 2013. The companions this time were three of my army friends who are known as “Bosses”.

Taiwan is a familiar destination for many Singaporeans and my last visit was only a year ago. Both Boss Swee and Boss Sheng had visited Taipei before so I suggested that we could visit some other places as well. After much deliberation we decided to spend two nights in Yilan, located on the northeastern coast of Taiwan before returning to Taipei for the following two nights.

I came across this home-stay Serene Gray (輕塵別院) which looked pretty awesome from its website. Rate was reasonable at 5200 TWD per night for a quad room. I liaised with the owner over e-mails and paid a deposit via Paypal to secure our reservation.

For Taipei, I decided to return to the Hope Hotel which I used last year. The rate for a double was 1800 TWD on Saturday and 1500 TWD on Sunday. The reservation process was more troublesome; I needed to e-mail a credit card authorization form for the deposit. I would very much prefer an online payment system.

Boss Swee decided not to return with us as his girlfriend would be flying over to Taiwan on our last day there. He couldn’t change the date of his return flight (because I would need to change mine too) and had to forfeit it. He would return to SIN on Scoot, just in time for another of our army friend’s wedding on the following Sunday.

Leave a Reply

