SWISSbuckling to Europe Pt I – Prologue

Click here for trip report index.

I couldn’t hardly believe it when I saw this promotion back in January.

SWISS was re-launching flights from ZRH to SIN in May 2013 and return economy class tickets to Europe were as cheap as 705 SGD.

[From Swiss International Airlines Facebook] SWISS is flying to Singapore!

My travel partner was thrilled with my discovery and after much deliberation, we settled on flying into Zurich on 4/10 and fly out of Milan on 18/10.

Total cost: a very agreeable 761.50 SGD!

In the days leading up to the trip, we were really excited about visiting Switzerland:-

Our impression of Switzerland

Please blame the poor color coordination on the lack of suitable Lego bricks.

Itinerary

Planning of the exact itinerary was more complex; there were so many possibilities and too little time.

In the end, we settled on the following itinerary:-

Switzerland
Switzerland (5-8 Oct)
Zurich, Lucerne, Interlaken & Glacier Express

Lichtenstein
Liechtenstein (8-9 Oct)
Vaduz

Austria
Austria (9-10 Oct)
Salzburg

Germany
Germany (11-13 Oct)
Berlin

Czech Republic
Czech Republic (13-15 Oct)
Prague

Italy
Italy (15-18 Oct)
Milan & Cinque Terre

Quoting Robert Louis Stevenson:-

For my part, I travel not to go anywhere, but to go. I travel for travel’s sake. The great affair is to move.

And what a great affair I will have in Europe.

On a side note, four new countries (Switzerland, Liechtenstein, Czech Republic and Italy) will be added to my list of countries visited by the end of this trip. It will push me to 40 and just 10 more to my target of 50 before 30 (age). Wish me luck on completing the challenge!

Leave a Reply

